Portuguese American Journal

Sports: Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series third stop on São Miguel – Azores

The world’s best cliff divers are returning  to São Miguel island, Azores, this weekend, for the third stop in the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2013. Last year, 14 athletes from 11 different countries participating.

The third leg of this international competition will take place Saturday, June 29, starting at 10:00am, on the Islet Vila Franca do Campo, a remote offshore spot formed by the remains of a collapsed underwater ancient volcano.

The Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series is watched by crowds traveling from around the world to different destinations to attend these extreme sports events. Divers jump from a platform at a height ranging from 26–28 m, off various structures, each one posing its own unique challenge.

Diving directly off the cliff allows the athletes to perform their two required dives, directly from the rocks, in a spectacular moment for the divers as well as the spectators.

Classified as a Nature Reserve, the Islet of Vila Franca do Campo is home to many species of birds, crustaceans and flora. The Islet is named after Vila Franca do Campo, the town next to where the islet was formed. This is the second time the seven stop sport event will be held on the Azores.

Established in 2009, the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series  was created by Red Bull as its annual international series of cliff diving events in which a limited number of competitors determine the Cliff Diving World Series winner.


Red Bull Cliff Diving 2013 >> Website >>  Azores  Stop  >> Facebook >> 2012 Photo Gallery >> Google map  >>

Red Bull Cliff Diving Azores 2012


All events in this 2013 series



The Azores  (population 250,000) is a region of Portugal composed of nine islands. The archipelago, discovered by Portuguese explorers in the 15th century, became an Autonomous Region of Portugal in 1976. The government of the Autonomous Region of the Azores includes the Legislative Assembly, composed of 57 elected deputies, elected by universal suffrage for a four-year term; the Regional Government and Presidency, with parliamentary legitimacy, composed of a President, a Vice-President and seven Regional Secretaries responsible for the Regional Government executive operations. The Autonomous Region of the Azores is represented in the Council of Ministers of the Central Government by a representative appointed by the President of Portugal.