Portuguese American Journal

IPMA: 2014 International Portuguese Music Awards to honor the best – New Bedford, MA

International artists of Portuguese descent are competing at the 2014 International Portuguese Music Awards (IPMA). Nominees in seven categories have been announced. Band Faith of New Bedford leads the pack with three nominations.

The contest received about 400 entries from a dozen countries, including artists from as far as Romania, Venezuela and Sierra Lione. Categories range from dance, hip-hop and rock to world music/fado and Portuguese popular music.

The contest aims to discovering international talent among entertainers of Portuguese, who live outside Portugal and have not previously recorded, signed a record deal with the goal to highlight their talent.

Winners will be known on March 22, at the IPMA awards night taking place, starting at 8:pm, at the Zeiterion Theatre, in New Bedford (MA). The show will feature prominent international Portuguese entertainers, popular singer Marco Paulo (Portugal), Nelia (Massachusetts), Maria de Barros (California), Tony Gouveia (Canada), Reno (Canada) Bryan Wilson (Romania) and Sebastian Cryan (Romania). The IPMA awards show will be taped and is expected to be broadcast worldwide on RTP International.

This year, IPMA is honoring Portuguese screen actor Diogo Morgado as “Person of the Year Award” at their “Gala Night” event to be held March 21 at 7 pm at the Cultural Center in Fall River (MA) with live entertainment by fado vocalist José Carlos and IPMA 2013 nominee Michele Ferreira. The event is sold out.

Established in 2013, the International Portuguese Music Awards (IPMA) recognizes outstanding achievement in the music industry by international artists of Portuguese ancestry. Nominees are judged by a panel of music industry experts.

For contacts and information visit IPMA here.

International Portuguese Music Awards >> Facebook >> 

Related Post

IPMA 2014 list of nominees:


“Come Back” by Band Faith (USA)

“És Uma Bomba” by Arlindo Andrade (USA)
“I Found You” by Bryan Wilson & Sebastian Crayn (ROMANIA)
“Não Quero Acordar” by Lucy & Bela (CANADA)

Popular Music:

“Amor Amor” by Band Faith (USA)

“Quando Em Sonhos (Eu Te Procuro)” by Joey Medeiros (USA)
“Malas de Saudade” by Nelson Rego (USA)
“Uma Noite Não é Nada” by Tony Borges (USA)


“A Nossa Canção” by Joey Medeiros (USA)
“The Law of Averages” by Nick Pedro (USA)
“A Vida do Imigrante” by Carlos Kanto (Venezuela)
“Lovin’” by John Jorge (USA)
“Starry Night” by Josh Pereira (USA)


“Insomnia” by The Procussions (USA)
“Put It All On The Line” by Steve STP (USA)
“Minha Mãe” by Sandro G (USA)
“My Dream” by Meco Jay (SIERRA LEONE)


“Como Consegues Ser Tão Bom” by Nuno Capataz (USA)
“Our Time Is Now” by Menage (CANADA)
“Isto é Que Vai Dar” by Xaque (USA)
“Blue Jeweled Eyes” by Band Faith (USA)

World Music/Fado:

“Sangria” by Nelia (USA)
“Sinto-Me Fado” by Shina (FRANCE)
“A Valsa da Paulinha” by José Pinto (BELGIUM)
“Enquanto as Pedras Me Falam” by Fatima Santos (USA)

Song of the Year:

“Sinto-Me Fado” – songwriters: Shina, Bruno Lunakisic
“Enquanto as Pedras Me Falam” – songwriters: João S. Martins, José Luis Iglesias
“I Found You” – songwriters: Bryan Wilson, Sebastian Crayn
“Our Time Is Now” – songwriters: Basilio Fernando Ferreira, Gabriel Ferreira, Anabela Ferreira

New Talent:

Rachael Stark (USA)
Melisse Andrade (USA)

People’s Choice Award:

Nominees will be announced at later date after online voting is complete. The general public can cast their votes before March 15 here.


Follow Us

facebook twitter