Portuguese American Journal

75 competing at 2011 Rally Portugal – Lisbon

The 2011 WRC Rally Portugal takes place March 24-27, starting in Lisbon at Praça do Império and ending in Faro, Algarve. The rally is returning to Lisbon for the first time in 37 years. A total of 75 cars are on the entry list, and they will compete the 17 stages and 385kms across the country.

Portuguese racers include Bernardo Sousa driving a Fiesta RS WRC, and Bruno Magalhães driving his Peugeot 207 S2000. From Brazil two-time PWRC champion Armindo Araujo will race against  Daniel Oliveira.

Racers Petter Solberg (Norway), Kimi Räikkönen (Finland) and Peter van Merksteijn Jr (Holand) are also competing for the prize. They began their season  at the World Rally Championship in Sweden. The Norwegian finished fifth (with three fastest times) and the Finn eighth place. Sebastien Ogier and Citroën won the event.

The 2011 WRC Rally Portugal marks the third round of the FIA World Rally Championship and will once again be hosted in the Algarve Stadium.

Follow Us

facebook twitter