Portuguese American Journal

IRC: Andreas Mikkelsen winner of SATA Rallye Azores – Ponta Delgada

Norwegian car racer Andreas Mikkelsen was the winner Saturday of the 14th SATA Rallye Azores with is Skoda UK-backed Fabia S2000. Finn driver Juho Hänninen, the 2010 IRC champion and the winner of the event in 2011, won second place, while French pilot Bryan Bouffier won third place. Azorean driver Ricardo Moura won sixth place, scoring the best Portuguese position.

The international sports event, held February 23-25, is the first round for the 2012 Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC).

The 2012 SATA Rally Azores, officially 47º SATA Rallye Azores, is a 17-stage gravel rally taking place on the island of São Miguel.

SATA Rallye Azores has been part of the IRC’s schedule for the last three seasons. Previous winners include Kris Meeke, Bruno Magalhaes and Juho Hanninen.

The SATA Rallye Azores has been held for over 40 years and is one of the most important legs in the ground stage of the National Championship. Its rankings contribute to the European Rally Cup organized by FIA (the Fédération Internationale de l´Automobile).

Last year in July, the SATA Rallye Azores hosted more than 40 crews along some of the most beautiful roads in the island of São Miguel.

One of the most challenging rallies on the international rally calendar, the SATA Rallye Azores covers approximately 200 miles.



Follow Us

facebook twitter