Portuguese American Journal

Eddie Vedder releasing “Ukulele Songs” album – Music

Eddie Vedder, of Seattle rock band Pearl Jam, is releasing “Ukulele Songs” a solo album consisting only of songs performed on the ukulele.  The ukulele is a small four string guitar introduced in America by Portuguese immigrants from Madeira. The album will be out on May 31st.

Vedder will release sixteen songs, including thirteen original songs and three covers. “Ukulele Songs” will be Vedder’s follow-up to the “Into the Wild” soundtrack and will feature original tunes and covers performed on a ukulele. Guest appearances include Chan Marshall of Cat Power and Glen Hansard.

By announcing the release of ukulele solo album, 46-year-old Eddie Vedder has followed in the footsteps of other ukulele fans such as Tiny Tim, George Formby, Amanda Palmer, and Jake Shimabukuro among others.

Besides 12 originals, the album will cover Everly Brothers’ “Sleepless Nights“, the Mamas and the Papas’ “Dream a Little Dream“, ukulele classic “Tonight You Belong To Me“, and Pearl Jam’s own “Can’t Keep“.

Vedder is also releasing a live-concert DVD featuring performances from his 2008 solo tour. The DVD is called “Water on the Road.”  Both “Ukulele Songs” and “Water on the Road” are released on May 31st.

Learn more about the history of the ukulele by visiting the Rhode Island Ukulele Hall of Fame Museum >>

The track listing of Vedder’s new album is:

‘Can’t Keep’
‘Sleeping By Myself’
‘Without You’
‘More Than You Know’
‘Broken Heart’
‘Longing To Belong’
‘Hey Fahkah’
‘You’re True’
‘Lights Today’
‘Sleepless Nights’
‘Once In Awhile’
‘Waving Palms’
‘Tonight You Belong To Me’
‘Dream A Little Dream’



Follow Us

facebook twitter